Opposites Playwright

I chose this as my humorous piece because if you know the characters it’s funny. The original assignment was to pick two fictional or non-fictional characters that are opposites of each other, and write a short play with them. I wanted this piece to accomplish the characters keeping their personalities but also allow the story to make sense and carry on. The thing I like most about the piece is that the characters are both doing something they would normally be doing despite being together. This shows that as a writer I can incorporate two scenarios and combine them to make one story. If I could change one thing about this playwright I would change how Ferb leaves and make it more interesting. 

Ferb wonders up to Spongebob’s house

SPONGEBOB: WHO ARE YOU? YOU DON’T LIVE HERE!

FERB: I’m Ferb from the Tristate Area. My brother and I built a submarine rollercoaster and I ended up here.

SPONGEBOB: Oh… awesome! I was just on my way to get Patrick and go jellyfish hunting, wanna come?

FERB: Sure.

SPONGEBOB: I’ll go find my extra net! It’s Squidwards’, but for some reason he never wants to go with me.

Spongebob runs through into his house, camera stays on Ferb

SPONGEBOB: Hi Garry! – OW *falling noise* – *hear him throwing things around* Got it!

Spongebob walks out with the net and hands it to Ferb

SPONGEBOB: Here you go! Let’s go catch some jellyfish! HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHA

Spongebob is running and jumping, Ferb is behind him walking. Ferb gets a phone call…

CANDACE: FERB!!!!!! WHERE ARE YOU?!?! YOU ARE SO BUSTED, GET BACK HOME NOW!She hangs up

FERB: Hmm, that was weird.

SPONGEBOB: C’mon! Don’t you know how to catch jellyfish? All you gotta do is this…

He jumps around with his net and catches a jellyfish, singing LA-LA-LA-LA-LA-LA

SPONGEBOB: See, just like that!

Ferb lifts his net and and jumps

SPONGEBOB: Maybe jellyfish catching isn’t your thing, let’s go to the Krusty Krab and get a krabby patty, that sounds good!

FERB: Ok

They walk to Krusty Krab, Spongebob singing the whole time, they walk in.

SPONGEBOB: Hey Squidward!! We’ll take two Krabby Patties! C’mon Ferb let’s go sit down.

FERB: I think I should be heading home.

SPONGEBOB: No! You can’t leave, at least wait for you krabby patty!

Spongebob runs to the back and makes two Krabby Patties! He runs back out and hands one to Ferb

FERB: Yum, thank you Spongebob.

Ferb gets up and starts walking out, Spongebob follows

SPONGEBOB: Goodbye Ferb!!! I’ll miss you so much. You’re such an amazing friend, come back whenever you want!

Ferb turns around and waves, Spongebob is waving too. He walks back to the submarine

FERB: What a weird boy.

Ferb goes off in submarine

 

Leave a Reply

